First hospital experiences

image.jpegSo much has happened since I fell into the world of clinical placement;

I have just completed seven exciting weeks of clinical placement. I was placed in a quieter surgical ward, at first I was unhappy with my placement but after Day one, I knew this was the kind of placement I would LOVE.

I’d a person who likes things to run smoothly in the sense that I can plan out the day or shift, and be organised. Although, I know patients have their own schedules on different matters, I felt that this ward was the best possible introduction to the big hospital world.

Of course, I was nervous. How could a student not be? I had all sorts of thoughts running through my head; do I know enough? Will I get in the way of the nurses? What is it going to be like? It was the Unknown, it felt like this was the big shot. My first hospital experience as a student nurse!

Boy, I should have saved my energy on my worries. The team was wonderful. Throughout the seven weeks the nurses were patient with me, taking their time to explain finer details to me, explaining where I can prove but also what I’m doing really well. The house officers over the time were both really great, I didn’t expect much from them being doctors and me, a nurse.  But they also took me under a wing and if I asked a question they were always polite and understanding. Showing me websites where I can research disease processes and helpful pharmacological information.

I had the best time, probably the best possible experience for me. I am a little worried about the mark on my must pass presentation, I don’t find out my grade for a few weeks yet.

for all of you nervous for their first hospital experiences, don’t be! Just enjoy the time of your life 💕

 

I am am on holiday for two weeks before returning to class timetables and heading down to Whakatane to visit my best friend, so I will be updating on my fun down here ☺️

Follow me on Instagram for my fabulous life in photos 😂: nursing_horses

or on snapchat: ash_beebee

I follow back and will always snap back 💕💕

Leave a Reply

